Melissa Giddins

Exploring technology and literacy in education.

Going “global” with website of the week

As the coordinator of the Digital Education Revolution in my school, I have been thinking about what professional development and leadership of technology looks like, as can be seen from my last post. For the Staff Development Day in Term 3, I will be exploring how to ensure that Quality Teaching is happening in a Virtual Learning Environment. Across Term 3, I will be running the Lunch and Learn series (as described in a previous post) however, there is one more piece to the emerging puzzle now.  I have decided to create a weekly eNewsletter for DER and in this newsletter to have a “website of the week” for each faculty. This information will then be stored in an “umbrella” Moodle category called Digital Education, which contains three courses: Website of the Week, Resources and Professional Development. This will mean that I can first disseminate the information via email to all staff and then allow the information to be available in a common place where teachers can access it when they are ready.

In a previous post I have talked about how successful the Website of the Week has been with my faculty, however, the success was also due to then showing that website at a faculty meeting and showing how it had been used with a class. So I am not entirely sure how well just providing a website of the week for the school will work.

We are going to try a SpeedGeeking session in the Staff Development Days at the end of the year, and hopefully, some of the teachers that have explored the information I will send out across this semester, will become involved as presenters.

As with everything, this is another strategy I am trying. It may fail, it may succeed, but I would rather try and fail than do nothing at all. I will do a post towards the end of the term reflecting on this whole process: lunch and learns, weekly eNewsletter, a school wide website of the week, the Moodle courses, the SDD presentations and the SpeedGeeking sessions. Wish me luck!

June 28, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Mel, just doing some ‘catch up’ with google reader. The speedgeeking session sounds amazing and something I’d like to try at our school so I will be keen to hear all about it. I’m also keen to try some ‘lunch and learn’ at my school. I’ve already been doing a short PD session at the beginning of most Faculty meetings and Staff meetings. With our faculty I usually show a tool or a site or a lesson I’ve done with the laptops and answer questions, leaving teachers to take the idea further or ask for one on one help later. In the staff sessions I ‘teach’ a little more, showing staff how do to something. It can be quite simple: like how to access a specific resource through DET or how to create a email distribution list. These have been quite popular so I think if I start a lunch and learn it my grow very naturally.

    Comment by Lyn | July 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

