Melissa Giddins

Exploring technology and literacy in education.

Edmodo

Frustrated by my inability to access social networking sites at school, I tried twittering with my students and the results of that can be read in my earlier post: Twitter in the Classroom: https://mgiddins.wordpress.com/2009/04/19/twitter-in-the-classroom/. Darcy then suggested that I try Edmodo so during the holidays I went to : http://www.edmodo.com and set up an account. I managed to communicate with a few students through twitter in the holidays and they went and signed up for me so we could start trialling and testing it. 

A few things that I have discovered so far about Edmodo:

1. It is REALLY easy to use and you can learn the basics in about 5 minutes.

2. It feels like a cross between Twitter and Facebook, in a protected environment, allowed through the DET portal (and the few students that have signed up are enjoying using it so far).

3. It is not like a blog or a wiki – it is a COMMUNICATION tool – primarily facilitating easy communication with a group of students.

After a few days of interacting on edmodo with the few students that have signed up so far, I could already see great potential for its use with students. On this basis, I introduced it to about 18 other members of staff today.  They had great fun signing up and playing with it – and also managed to work out how to use it very quickly – which is very good news about how easy it really is to use and learn. Many great ideas were starting to come out about ways to use edmodo but rather than tell you about them myself, I will allow those who were there to make comments to this post, and tell you themselves what their ideas are, and their successes and failures.

As for me, on Thursday morning the rest of my classes will be receiving their edmodo passwords and signing up. We will use it and I promise to report back and let you know how it goes – the reality of how it goes: good, bad or ugly.

If you are interested in edmodo, here is some basic information for you:

  • go to http://www.edmodo.com
  • you will see a sentence that says: ‘Sign up now. I am a teacher, or a student.’ Click on ‘teacher’.
  • a sign-up screen will appear – so sign up! NB: the email address that you put in is where you will receive your notifications about updates on the edmodo site that your students have made.
  • Once you have logged in with your new information, you can go to Settings and customise your profile.
  • On the main screen underneath your avatar (or photo if you choose to upload one), there is a section called ‘groups’ if you click on ‘Create’ this is where you create a class group.  So for example, I created a group called 11ExtEng for my Year 11 Extension English class. As soon as you create a group, the password for that group is posted onto your edmodo page by the edmodo support team. All you then have to do is give students the name of the group and the password.  Students go to http://www.edmodo.com and click on ‘student’ which allows them to sign up specifically to your class group, using the group name and password you have given them.
  • You can create many groups on your edmodo account (don’t know the limits of how many yet).
  • You have the option of adding notes, events, assignments, links and files in your communication with students.

This is the very basic information that will get you started with edmodo. On the edmodo website, if you click on the link ‘Docs’ that will give you access to blogs with instructional information.

I would love to hear about your own experiments and experiences with edmodo!

April 28, 2009 - Posted by | edmodo, Social Networking | ,

6 Comments »

  1. I wonder when the DET allowed Edmodo? I tried to get it unblocked over the summer holidays and was told it would not be.

    Comment by Simon Job | May 3, 2009 | Reply

    • We have been using it at DET school since the beginning of Term 2 with no problems, so I guess they changed their mind!

      I have a number of teachers using it with senior students for English, Drama and Dance as well as using it among a number of primary schools as part of a G&T program, and a few Year Advisors are looking at using it as a way to get information out to a whole year group very quickly. So far (one week in to our grand experiment with Edmodo) all is going well. The students are really enjoying it and the teachers are loving the ease of communication.

      Comment by mgiddins | May 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. I am using Edmodo now and it is slowly taking off…I’ll let you know how it goes…

    Comment by Troy | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  3. I agree that it is a great tool to use for communication, however, my findings are that kids are less connected than I first thought. In a class of 9 students I have only managed to connect with 2. This is over a period of 3 weeks. Are we assuming too much about the technologies that students are connected at home?

    Natasha COmelli

    Comment by Natasha Comelli | May 11, 2009 | Reply

    • Possibly. I know that in my Extension English class, all 10 students are regularly connecting through Edmodo, but less students have engaged from the Year 11 and Year 12 Advanced classes. I have noticed that it is slowly picking up over time though, and as I put more information on there, more people are accessing it. I have also had some kids say that they go and look at it but don’t make comments, so that makes it hard to ascertain exactly what the percentage of take-up is – I was thinking we might do a survey in a few weeks and check? Or maybe the end of term?

      Comment by mgiddins | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hi, I have been using Edmodo all this year with stage 4 and 6, it is the easiest, most effective web 2.0 tool I have used for communicating and as a base to lead out to the WWW from and return to. The students log on to it everyday. My favorite though is if I have a casual covering my classes I can log in and send my encouragements or discourage spamming.

    Comment by Niki mcDonald | June 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

