Melissa Giddins

Exploring technology and literacy in education.

Teaching Skills for the 21st Century

I was directed to this blog: http://www.tommarch.com/ozblog/skills-checklist/ through a tweet I received today and I am SO impressed by it that I immediately decided to add the link to my blog. The post on the blog: Bright Ideas for Education by Tom March, is a checklist of teaching skills for the 21st Century classroom and is very comprehensive.  I suggest that all teachers go to this site and complete the checklist for themselves, leaving a comment on the site.  I am going to reproduce this checklist for my faculty as it is a great resource for not only tracking current skill levels but also for providing a guide as to what to learn next.

I will report further on my faculty’s reaction to the checklist, and my own results when tracked against the list.

As part of the comments for the above blog post Tom March directed me to other work done in this area: http://henricostaffdev.org/wiki/index.php?title=TIPC – this is the Teaching Innovation Progression Chart and is also a fascinating tool for tracking and guiding a professional learning journey.

April 26, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

