Melissa Giddins

Exploring technology and literacy in education.

Podcasting

Last year, I began experimenting with podcasting for students. I created a series of podcasts with basic information on them.  The kind of information that students forget, and need to be retold every year, and could do with a source for revision.  The podcast topics were:

  • Basic Essay Writing
  • Writing an Essay Introduction
  • Essay Writing in Stage 6 English
  • Poetry Techniques
  • Basic Poetry Analysis

These proved surprisingly popular with students as they could listen to them at home when they were trying to remember how to do something. It brought the teacher into their home and made information they needed more readily available. Not very useful for actual teaching in the classroom – because they are NO substitute for the teacher live, but very useful as a resource for students.  I will add these podcasting files to this blog so that anyone can access them, but no laughing! They were my first attempts.

Bottom line: I highly recommend creating podcasts for students about information they need to know, revise, embed in their learning. Also very useful to get students to create their own podcasts of information they are studying, they can then revise while on the move, listening to it on a MP3 player like iPod.

To create a podcast, you just need a microphone attached to your computer. I would suggest using an easy program like Audacity (which you can download for free on the internet) and writing the script up before you start recording.

Would love to hear other people’s ideas and experiences with podcasts, so please feel free to comment.

April 21, 2009 - Posted by | podcasting | , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Hi Melissa. Thanks for your blog. It has some great ideas for using podcasts in student learning and I intend to give it a go!

    Comment by Joanne Jarvis | April 24, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks, Joanne. I look forward to hearing your podcasts in future. Please share your experiences, I would love to know how it goes for you. Good luck!

      Comment by mgiddins | April 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’ve just starting to make a podcast for visual literacy, like a visual literacy toolkit, for school certificate students. I’ll let you know how it goes…

    Comment by Troy | April 25, 2009 | Reply

    • I would love a copy when you finish 🙂 Sounds great. I am still working out how to add my podcasts to this site lol but they should be up sooner or later.

      Comment by mgiddins | April 25, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hi Mel!
    I just downloaded Audacity and discovered there is an inbuilt microphone in my computer! yay! am so excited to make podcasts! i also told some of my friends who are still at uni, and they are going to make them with their study notes and put them on their ipods!

    Comment by Monique Weir | April 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

