Melissa Giddins

Exploring technology and literacy in education.

Facebook

Ok, I confess. I had avoided facebook. I worried about students saying nasty things about me or making inappropriate comments, I thought that it was a waste of time, etc etc etc. Yesterday, I decided that enough was enough and I needed to get a facebook account. For two reasons:

1. My sister is currently travelling and she put her pics on facebook and I couldn’t see them without having an account!

2. Everyone else seemed to have one, without any of the dramas I was worrying about, and I was feeling decidedly left out.

So yesterday, I bit the bullet (where does that saying come from?), and signed up on Facebook. I was very surprised to find that a heck of a lot of people I know are already on there, regardless of age. Not quite 24 hours later I have 26 friends with, I’m sure, many more to come. I have found people I went to high school with (20 years ago), work colleagues past and present, friends I’d lost touch with, current friends and relatives, and have had no end of fun looking at people’s profiles and being amazed at this nifty tool that allowed me to reconnect with some long lost friends.

It sucked up a huge amount of time getting it set up and reading through everyone’s stuff, etc, not to mention chatting online with a few people, but now that it is up and running it seems like it will potter along without needing lots of maintenance time – though I understand that there are those out there who are quite addicted and spend lots of time on it!

As always, I subscribe to my theory of using it in order to be able to imagine more from it, so it will be interesting now to see what I can come up with for ways to use facebook in the classroom, particularly when it is not allowed through the DET portal.

April 21, 2009 - Posted by | Social Networking |

5 Comments »

  1. It is timewaster’s best friend! But I have had the same feeling, catching up with old friends and relatives around Australia.
    I think it could become useful outside of the DET portal inner realm, but a class blog- a place outside the classroom to continue discussion etc- would be just as effective and easier to ‘control’…

    Comment by Troy | April 21, 2009 | Reply

    • I am looking forward to checking out edmodo which has been billed as a way to interact with students in a ‘safer’ way. I was interested to see the blog post on whether students would like to use ‘neutered social networks’: http://education.zdnet.com/?p=2438. I agree with your comment about a class blog being easier to control, apparently edmodo takes that a step further like a cross between a blog and a wiki? I’m not sure yet! I will be sure to let you know how edmodo goes when I work out how to use it!

      Comment by mgiddins | April 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. Someone’s hooked!!! Yay..facebook’s the best.

    Comment by Tara | April 22, 2009 | Reply

    • I can’t believe how much time can be sucked into facebook! What with the many little quizzes, people chatting to me and that addictive little game called Word Twist, it would be easy for an hour to disappear before I had noticed. It’s been really good to be able to follow my sister’s trip around Europe on facebook though, and she is posting regular photos – it’s fantastic!

      Comment by mgiddins | April 24, 2009 | Reply

  3. It all looks very impressive Mel….I’m sure i used to have the desire and energy to put something together like this…i think i still have the desire but the energy is another matter….

    In all seriousness, it looks does look great and maybe one day, when i have something worth saying to the world, I may create one of my own…:-)

    Comment by Pete | April 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

